Never thought I’d be a tweeter. 

It’s been about a week since I joined the Twitter world, and I’m pleasantly surprised with how much I’m enjoying it. Although the majority of my tweets thus far are composed of retweets and quotes, the Twitter world has exposed me to such thoughts, and allowed the opportunity to share them. I was shocked to learn how behind the times I truly was, as I discovered the Twitter profiles of classrooms I personally have worked in. It made me think how much I had been missing out on in terms of what my page and eportfolio could look like by now. But, better late than never. 

I’m starting to have a much better appreciate of what Twitter offers not only personally, but in the classroom. As I trolled the pages of educators near and far, I was pulled deeper into the anticipation of having a classroom Twitter page myself.  Not only is it a great place to share ideas, but also offers a level of connection that could not be obtained without. A classroom newsletter is great, but daily updates including pictures and videos is not only a great way for the parents and the community to see what’s going on, but also allows for documentation, reflection and feedback. Offering student or other classroom shout outs it’s a great way to build a positive and encouraging climate not only with your own class bout throughout the school. Chances are, your students have come from another room on the school or will be going to one the next year, so tweeting is a great way to show inter-connectedness, reinforcing that we’re all on the same team. 

So far my biggest challenge is knowing where to draw the line between personal and professional. I’m building my digital identity from scratch. I haven’t had Facebook since high school, when professionalism wasn’t my main concern. I’ve remained mostly off the grid since then, which I’ve since learned through last weeks lecture may be considered “creepy” and “weird”. I just called it being private; however, we live in an extremely public world and I have no choice but to adapt. In the Forbes article, 5 Reasons Why Your Online Presence Will Replace Your Resume in 10 years, it highlights the importance of your online presence in terms of employment. Recruiters simultaneously search for talent and perform background checks through web presence, so for me that’s a focal point of building my profile. I have so many passions that I want to properly communicate, which will only enhance my personal and professional brand. I think it will take a bit of practice, but I’m definitely up for the challenge if it ensure a successful future. For both me and my students. 

One thought on “Never thought I’d be a tweeter. 

Leave a Reply

